Contact Us

Wheaton, IL suspended revoked drivers license attorneyThere is a multitude of reasons you can have your driving privileges taken away from you -- being convicted of a DUI, not paying your traffic tickets, not showing up in court and not paying child support are just a few ways you can have your license suspended or revoked. Whatever the reason, driving while your license is suspended or revoked is a bad idea. It can lead to even more trouble, like hefty fines and in some cases, jail time. Being caught driving while your license is suspended or revoked can also make it more difficult to have your license reinstated and may even increase the amount of time that your license is suspended or revoked.

First Offense

According to Illinois law, a person who is caught driving with a suspended or revoked license will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor for a first offense. You will face a mandatory sentence of 10 days in jail or 30 days of community service and fines of up to $2,500. If you were driving on a suspended license, your license will be suspended for double the original suspension period. If you were driving on a revoked license, your license will be revoked for an additional year.

Second Offense

If you are caught driving on a suspended or revoked license a second time, you will be charged with a Class 4 felony. This means you will face a minimum of 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service. You will also face a suspension of your driving privileges for double the original suspension period or an additional year added to your revocation period. A second offense can also result in your vehicle being seized or forfeited. If your first suspension or revocation of your driver’s license was for charges such as reckless homicide, DUI, refusing a chemical test or leaving the scene of a crash, you will be charged with a Class 2 felony.

Have You Been Caught Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License? A Wheaton, IL Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help

Nobody likes having their driving privileges taken away from them. Though your life becomes difficult after your license has been suspended or revoked, your life will be even more difficult if you are caught driving during your suspension or revocation period. At the Davi Law Group, LLC, we understand how suspended or revoked licenses can affect your everyday life. Our experienced DuPage County license suspension lawyers can help you mitigate any charges that you may be facing for driving on a suspended or revoked license and our knowledgeable driver’s license reinstatement lawyers can help you get back behind the wheel as soon as possible. Call our office today at 630-580-6373 to schedule a free consultation.

...
Continue reading

IL DUI lawyerWith 27,000 DUI arrests and 330 alcohol-related crash deaths in Illinois in 2017, you can understand why law enforcement and the courts take drunk driving offenses so seriously. Still, the State of Illinois also knows people can make one bad decision that should not necessarily devastate their life.

With that in mind, the state has options available for first-time offenders and other individuals who qualify so they can still earn a living and largely maintain their previous daily routine. One option is a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID), which around 12,000 Illinois residents have in their car at any given time.

BAIID Devices in Illinois

A BAIID is a breathalyzer device that tests a driver’s blood-alcohol content (BAC) and captures an image of the driver behind the wheel. If the driver registers a BAC of anywhere from .000 to .024, the vehicle’s ignition will function as desired. Anything .025 and above, it will not start. In addition to a test to initially start the vehicle, other tests are required at random intervals during each trip.

To be eligible for a BAIID, an individual cited for DUI must first apply for a monitoring device driving permit (MDDP). If granted, the BAIID is then installed in their vehicle for the duration of their court-supervised driver’s license suspension.

...
Continue reading

IL defense lawyerEstimates suggest there are anywhere from 2 million to 4 million domestic assaults on women each year in the United States. That wide estimate range is due to the fact many cases go unreported. Violence involving current or former partners occurs in every age, racial, religious, and socioeconomic group. Unfortunately, many individuals are wrongly accused of domestic violence because they are in the midst of contentious divorce or family law proceedings. While domestic violence orders of protection are meant to help victims or potential sufferers, a vindictive former partner can also weaponize them in an attempt to sway the tone and eventual decisions in litigation.

If you are falsely accused of domestic violence, immediately contact a skilled criminal defense lawyer who can serve as your advocate and ensure the truth is not drowned out by false allegations.

Domestic Violence in Illinois

In Illinois, police strive to protect victims of domestic violence, which according to legal statute may be perpetrated by:

  • Family members related by blood;
  • Current and former spouses;
  • Parents, children, and stepchildren;
  • Individuals who formerly shared the same residence;
  • Persons currently in a relationship with or who previously dated or were engaged to the victim; and
  • Disabled individuals and their personal assistants.

Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic battery is that which causes bodily harm or involves physical contact to provoke or insult any family or household member. It is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable up to a year in jail and fine of $2,500. It escalates to a Class 4 felony if there is a previous conviction for domestic violence, violation of a protective order, or various other violent offenses. It can be charged as a Class 3 felony if a person has three prior convictions, or a Class 2 felony for four or more.

...
Continue reading

IL defense lawyerMore than 27,000 DUI arrests were recorded in Illinois last year. Many of these constituted aggravated DUI offenses, which are the most serious DUI charges a driver can face. In Illinois, aggravated DUI is any DUI offense that results in a felony charge. A first or second DUI conviction is classified as a misdemeanor, but subsequent convictions or circumstances that involve various levels of endangerment, injury, or death can be charged as felonies. While you should have a skilled attorney for any DUI charge, it is impossible to overstate the need if you face aggravated DUI charges.

Aggravated DUI Cases in Illinois

Anyone convicted of aggravated DUI is subject to community service or imprisonment that cannot be suspended or reduced. Even those who receive probation or conditional discharge get at least 480 hours of community service or 10 days of incarceration.

Here is a look at offenses that constitute aggravated DUI in Illinois:

Class 2 Felony

...
Continue reading

IL defense lawyerWhile getting caught with drug paraphernalia is typically considered less serious than a drug possession charge, that is not always the case. It is illegal to possess drug paraphernalia in Illinois, and penalties can be severe and costly, regardless of whether it was discovered along with narcotics.

What Is Drug Paraphernalia?

Illinois’ Drug Paraphernalia Control Act defines drug paraphernalia as equipment or materials (other than those used to produce methamphetamine, which is covered in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act) intended to plant, grow, harvest, test, store, conceal, or consume a controlled substance. Related devices used to smoke marijuana, cocaine, hash products, synthetic drugs, or other substances include various forms of pipes and bongs. Also included are drug manufacturing kits, testing equipment, and cutting agents.

Drug Paraphernalia Charges

Anyone caught with drug paraphernalia with the intent to consume a controlled substance can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, with a fine between $750 to $2,500 and up to a year in jail. That is a more serious charge than getting caught with less than 10 grams of cannabis, which as a Class B misdemeanor, carries up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,500.

Selling drug paraphernalia is more serious than possession under Illinois law. An individual who sells or delivers it may be charged with a Class 4 felony, with a minimum fine of $1,000 and up to a year in prison. If the seller is over 18 years old and the recipient is a minor, that constitutes a Class 3 felony, punishable up to five years in prison and $25,000 in fines. A knowing sale to a pregnant woman is a Class 2 felony, punishable up to seven years in prison and $25,000 in fines.

...
Continue reading
Abraham Lincoln A lawyer’s time and advice are his stock and trade. -Abraham Lincoln
Warrenville Office
Address28371 Davis Parkway, Suite 103, Warrenville, IL 60555
Phone(630) 657-5052
Fax(888) 350-9195
Wheaton Office
Address1776 S. Naperville Road, Building A, Suite 105, Wheaton, IL 60189
Phone(630) 580-6373
Fax(888) 350-9195
Chicago Office
Address321 N. Clark Street, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone(312) 985-5676
Fax(888) 350-9195
Joliet Office
Address58 N. Chicago Street, Suite 102,
Joliet, IL 60432
Phone(815) 582-4901
Fax(888) 350-9195
Davi Law Group, LLC handles criminal law matters for clients in Chicago and throughout the western suburbs including DuPage County, Will County, Kane County, Kendall County and Cook County and the cities of Aurora, Bloomingdale, Bolingbrook, Carol Stream, Darien, Downers Grove, Elmhurst, Geneva, Glen Ellyn, Hinsdale, Joliet, Kendall County, Lisle, Lombard, Naperville, Oak Park, Oak Brook, Oswego, Park Ridge, Roselle, St. Charles, Villa Park, Warrenville, Wheaton, Winfield, Woodridge and Yorkville.

 

 

 

Chat Us Text Us