Consequences for DUI in Illinois
One of the most common ways for people to get tangled up in the criminal justice system is by being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). The consequences for a DUI depend many different factors, but can include jail or prison time and large fines. There are also consequences for your driving privileges that may last even if you are not convicted of a crime.
What DUI Means in Illinois
Under Illinois law if you are under 18 and you have any alcohol in your blood you will be charged with DUI. If you are operating a commercial vehicle with a Commercial Driver’s License, you will be charged with DUI if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .04 or higher. Drivers over age 21 will be charged with DUI if their BAC is .08 or higher.
You can be charged even if your BAC is lower than .08, if a police office determines that you are too impaired to drive. If your blood has any traces of illegal drugs like marijuana or methamphetamine you will be charged with DUI. If you have prescription drugs in your system and a police officer judges you to be too impaired to drive, you will be charged with DUI.
Penalties for DUI
A first DUI can be punishable by up to a year in jail, although few first time offenders ever serve jail time. There are also fines of up to $2,500. Your license will be suspended for up to six months, or a year if you refuse to take a chemical test.
A second DUI, like a first, is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. Most convictions for a second DUI will result in some jail time. There is no limit to the look back period in Illinois. Once you have one DUI it counts on your record for the rest of your life. Your license may be suspended for up to five years.
If you commit a third DUI, the crime is considered a felony. You may serve up to seven years in prison and face a $2,500 fine. Your license will be suspended up to ten years. Every DUI after the second one will result in a longer prison sentence. If you commit a fourth DUI your license will be revoked forever, with no possibility of getting another one.
If you have been charged with DUI, before you do anything, you need to speak with an experienced DuPage County DUI attorney. If you have been accused of a crime, before you talk to anyone, call the Davi Law Group for a consultation right away at 630-580-6373.