Contact Us
We are open for business and offering phone and video consultations during business hours.

Tag Archives: DuPage County defense lawyer

IL defense lawyerEstimates suggest there are anywhere from 2 million to 4 million domestic assaults on women each year in the United States. That wide estimate range is due to the fact many cases go unreported. Violence involving current or former partners occurs in every age, racial, religious, and socioeconomic group. Unfortunately, many individuals are wrongly accused of domestic violence because they are in the midst of contentious divorce or family law proceedings. While domestic violence orders of protection are meant to help victims or potential sufferers, a vindictive former partner can also weaponize them in an attempt to sway the tone and eventual decisions in litigation.

If you are falsely accused of domestic violence, immediately contact a skilled criminal defense lawyer who can serve as your advocate and ensure the truth is not drowned out by false allegations.

Domestic Violence in Illinois

In Illinois, police strive to protect victims of domestic violence, which according to legal statute may be perpetrated by:

  • Family members related by blood;
  • Current and former spouses;
  • Parents, children, and stepchildren;
  • Individuals who formerly shared the same residence;
  • Persons currently in a relationship with or who previously dated or were engaged to the victim; and
  • Disabled individuals and their personal assistants.

Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic battery is that which causes bodily harm or involves physical contact to provoke or insult any family or household member. It is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable up to a year in jail and fine of $2,500. It escalates to a Class 4 felony if there is a previous conviction for domestic violence, violation of a protective order, or various other violent offenses. It can be charged as a Class 3 felony if a person has three prior convictions, or a Class 2 felony for four or more.

...
Continue reading

IL DUI lawyerGetting pulled over by police while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs can seriously impact your life, as well as your livelihood if your driving privileges are taken away. While Illinois laws are stringent when it comes to driving under the influence, the state sometimes provides relief for those facing their first DUI charge. Statistics released by the state say around 20 percent of first-time offenders are actually convicted. Many are instead required to comply with court supervision, and possible drug and alcohol counseling or driving school.

To effectively navigate the process and achieve the most positive outcome possible, you do not want to represent yourself in court. You should entrust an experienced DUI attorney to handle this critical juncture in your life. Here is a look at DUI charges, potential penalties, and options for first-time offenders:

DUI in Illinois

In Illinois, driving under the influence is defined as driving a vehicle while impaired by alcohol, or illegal or prescribed drugs. You are considered under the influence if you have a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or above; a marijuana THC concentration of at least five nanograms per milliliter of blood, or 10 nanograms per milliliter of other bodily fluid; or if you have used another controlled substance or are impaired by medication.

Illinois DUI Penalties

If you fail a chemical test administered by a law enforcement officer, as a first-time offender, you may have your driver’s license suspended for six months if convicted. If you refuse a chemical test, you could face a 12-month suspension.

...
Continue reading

IL defense lawyerThe shock of a DUI charge is sobering. Many of those standing accused become riddled with questions, such as, “How will this affect my future?” and “What should I do next?” DUI charges are severe accusations in Illinois, potentially resulting in criminal punishments. Not only do you face losing your right to drive, but you also may receive a criminal record. You may have already made one mistake too many at this point. Avoid making further errors by following these best practices.

Do Not Speak to Police without an Attorney

The police tell you when reading you your rights that you have the right to an attorney and anything you say can, and will, be used against you. Although they may say it out of habit, you should heed their warnings. Police receive specialized interrogation training, enabling them to elicit as much information out of a suspect as possible before they realize they have said too much. Do not wait until you have said more than you should. Retain an experienced attorney immediately before you say anything. Prevention is preferable to overcoming incriminating evidence.

Avoid Discussing Your Case with Friends, Family, and Co-Workers

...
Continue reading

IL defense lawyerOne of the perks of living in and around a big city is that everything is within walking or biking distance. Traditionally, with the better weather of summer months comes an increase in cyclists. We also find a correlating rise in the number of cycling while intoxicated cases. The incidents do not occur often enough for everyone to know the Illinois repercussions; however, the episodes are not entirely uncommon either.

The Legal Answers

It is common knowledge that driving yourself home in a motor vehicle after having too much to drink is dangerous for yourself, your passengers, and for everyone else on the road. Most people opt to have a designated driver, a cab, or a ride share take them home in those circumstances. However, when the weather is right, a bike ride does not immediately seem like a poor decision. Yet, there are unperceived dangers as well as potential legal complications to doing so. Under Illinois State law, a vehicle is anything that transports a person or property from one location to another, except if it is human powered. Meaning, your feet, and your bicycles are not vehicles. Therefore, taking a bicycle home is unlikely to result in a DUI charge, since you are not operating a car. A DUI on a bicycle is only possible under the following conditions:

  • You are intoxicated over the legal drinking limit;
  • The bike is motorized; and
  • The bike is capable of traveling faster than 20 miles per hour.

The Dangers of Biking While Intoxicated

...
Continue reading
Abraham Lincoln A lawyer’s time and advice are his stock and trade. -Abraham Lincoln
Warrenville Office
Address28371 Davis Parkway, Suite 103, Warrenville, IL 60555
Phone(630) 657-5052
Fax(888) 350-9195
Wheaton Office
Address1776 S. Naperville Road, Building A, Suite 105, Wheaton, IL 60189
Phone(630) 580-6373
Fax(888) 350-9195
Chicago Office
Address321 N. Clark Street, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone(312) 985-5676
Fax(888) 350-9195
Joliet Office
Address58 N. Chicago Street, Suite 102,
Joliet, IL 60432
Phone(815) 582-4901
Fax(888) 350-9195
Davi Law Group, LLC handles criminal law matters for clients in Chicago and throughout the western suburbs including DuPage County, Will County, Kane County, Kendall County and Cook County and the cities of Aurora, Bloomingdale, Bolingbrook, Carol Stream, Darien, Downers Grove, Elmhurst, Geneva, Glen Ellyn, Hinsdale, Joliet, Kendall County, Lisle, Lombard, Naperville, Oak Park, Oak Brook, Oswego, Park Ridge, Roselle, St. Charles, Villa Park, Warrenville, Wheaton, Winfield, Woodridge and Yorkville.

 

 

 

Chat Us Text Us