Reckless Driving Charges and Penalties in Illinois
There are scores of traffic violations you can commit from behind the wheel -- speeding, running a stop sign, not using your blinkers -- the list goes on. One of the more serious traffic offenses you can commit is reckless driving. In Illinois, reckless driving can result in significant consequences, because reckless driving is not just a traffic ticket -- it can result in a misdemeanor or a felony charge, depending on your circumstances. If you have been charged with reckless driving, it is important that you understand the charges and related penalties.
What is Reckless Driving?
According to Illinois traffic laws, reckless driving occurs when a person either:
- Drives any vehicle with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of people or property; or
- Knowingly drives a vehicle and uses an incline in a roadway -- such as a railroad crossing, bridge approach or hill -- to cause the vehicle to become airborne.
There is no one particular action that can get you charged with reckless driving in Illinois. Rather, it is up to the discretion of the arresting law enforcement officer and judge (and possibly a jury) to determine whether your actions on the road constitute reckless driving.
Consequences for Reckless Driving
In its most basic form, reckless driving is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, the most serious class of misdemeanor. This means a reckless driving charge can result in up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
In certain situations, your reckless driving charge may be elevated to a felony charge. If your actions resulted in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another person, you can be charged with a Class 4 felony, which carries a sentence of up to three years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
Charges can also be increased to felony charges if your actions cause harm to a child or a school crossing guard while he or she is performing their duties. If you cause any type of bodily harm to either a child or school crossing guard, you can be charged with a Class 4 felony. If you cause great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to a child or school crossing guard, you can be charged with a Class 3 felony, which results in up to five years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
A DuPage County Reckless Driving Defense Attorney Can Help
If you have been charged with reckless driving or aggravated reckless driving, it is important that you contact a reliable Wheaton, IL reckless driving defense lawyer right away. At the Davi Law Group, LLC, we take pride in knowing our skilled attorneys will help you fight your traffic violations by exploring every possible way of arriving at a positive outcome. If you want to know more about defending against Illinois reckless driving charges, or you would like to talk to an attorney about your case, call our office at 630-580-6373 to schedule a free consultation.