Penalties for Speeding and Distracted Driving in Illinois Construction Zones
During a recent four-year period, there were more than 4,500 motor vehicle crashes in Illinois roadway work zones, with nearly 1,100 injuries and 27 deaths. With those unfortunate statistics, you can see why the State of Illinois and law enforcement take construction zone traffic violations so seriously.
Getting pulled over for excessive speed or texting on your phone in a work zone can prove costly, and put your driving privileges in jeopardy if you have previous infractions on your driving record. Here is a look at what you could face if convicted of a work zone speed limit or phone violation:
Speeding in Illinois Construction Zones
Many drivers incorrectly believe construction zone speed limits only apply if workers are present. The truth is, motorists account for 90 percent of all work zone fatalities, and these limits are primarily posted for the safety of drivers and passengers, typically due to narrow lanes, lane reductions, and edge drop-offs. Traveling at a slower speed gives a driver more time to adjust to these conditions.
Construction zone speed limit signs can be identified by the orange “WORK ZONE” tag atop the standard black-and-white sign. Flashing lights are not required on these signs in Illinois.
If you are ticketed for speeding in a work zone, it is a minimum fine of $375 for the first offense and a minimum of $1,000 for a second. If a repeated offense occurs within two years of the first, you face a 90-day driver’s license suspension. You also must appear in court for a work zone speed limit ticket.
Work Zone Speed Limit Photo Enforcement
Work zone speed limit signs often have “PHOTO ENFORCED” added to them, just below the posted limit. Automated photo enforcement from Illinois State Police vans is only enacted when workers are present. These tickets are typically mailed within 14 days of the violation. The fines and mandated court appearance are the same as above.
Distracted Driving in Illinois Work Zones
It is illegal to text, check email, or surf the internet on your phone while driving. Only hands-free communication is allowed. A ticket for not adhering to this law can cost $75 for a first offense, and $150 for multiple offenses.
Contact a DuPage County Moving Violation Lawyer
If you received a ticket for speeding or texting in a construction zone, do not plead guilty before you speak to an attorney at the Davi Law Group. We can assess the details of your case and determine the best course of action to limit your expense and potential for driver’s license suspension or revocation. Call a Wheaton criminal defense attorney at 630-580-6373 for traffic offenses in DuPage, Kane, Kendall and Cook Counties.