Facing Gun Possession Charges? Jail Time and Fines Might Be in Your Future
Illinois has a history of having strict gun possession laws. For example, Illinois was the last state in the country to allow for concealed weapon carrying, which you must have a permit to do.
If you are charged with a gun crime, you can expect that a court and jury will not take such allegations lightly. Retaining a defense attorney is the first step you can take to safeguard your constitutional rights as a defendant.
Requirements for Gun Owners
In order to buy and possess a gun in Illinois, at the minimum you must have a Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card. This card does not allow you to carry concealed. It is a prerequisite to obtaining a concealed weapons permit.
This means that if you have a FOID, and you are carrying a gun outside your home or business, the gun must be not immediately accessible, broken down, or unloaded and enclosed in a container.
Restrictions on a Gun Possession
Illinois also bans guns in certain locations even if the possessor has a concealed weapons permit. These locations include:
- Schools and campuses;
- Child care facilities;
- State and local government buildings;
- Detention centers and prisons;
- Public parks and playgrounds;
- Hospitals, nursing homes, and mental health facilities;
- Public transit;
- Airports; and
- Stadiums, sport venues, and gaming establishments.
Penalties for Gun Possession Convictions
If you are convicted of a weapons charge, you could face one of several possible sentence ranges.
If you are possessing a gun without a FOID card and you are eligible for such a card, you would be guilty of a class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors can come with a fine of up to $2,500 and can be punishable by up to a year in prison.
After your first violation, the charges would be a class 4 felony, which carries a fine of up to $25,000 and a sentence between one and three years in prison.
If you possessed a weapon without a FOID card and you are not eligible for a card, you could be facing up to two years in prison and a fine up of up to $25,000. Some reasons why you may not be eligible for a card is if you are a felon, have domestic abuse convictions, or are under age 21 (or under age 18 in some cases).
Contact a Wheaton, IL Gun Charges Lawyer
The skilled DuPage County, IL gun possession charges attorneys at Davi Law Group, LLC will fight hard for you whether negotiating with a prosecutor or arguing before a judge.
Davi Law Group, LLC can be reached at 630-580-6373. We are able to meet clients at one of our offices that serve DuPage, Kane, Cook, Kendall, and Will counties.